It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

*This review is SPOILER FREE* 

It Ends With Us

Find it on Goodreads

Buy it at Chapters/Indigo

Buy it at Barnes & Noble

Buy it at Book Depository

Buy it at Amazon

 

Okay…

…Coherent thoughts…

…Come to me, please…

…I, your humble servant am awaiting your arrival…

…It’s been over a week now…

…Where are you my knight (in any type of word inducing) armor…

….ughhhhhhhhhhh…..

Okay…I can do this!

This Ends With Us is Colleen Hoover’s newest release. The title was released on August 2 and centers around, Lily Bloom, a Maine-native who is currently living in Boston where she meets, Ryle Kincaid, on a rooftop after attending her father’s funeral earlier that day in her hometown. The story unfolds in real-time as well as through flasblacks via journal entries from Lily’s teenage years where we get to experience her relationship with Atlas Corrigan, who ends up re-entering her life at some point in the story.

Let me just get this off my chest…IF EVER THERE WAS A BOOK THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN TITLED “50 SHADES OF GRAY“, IT’S THIS ONE! I yell this, in all-caps, because of the subject matter that surrounds a portion of the Lily’s life. You may expect to have a very black-and-white/cut-and-dry opinion and outlook on domestic violence and remaining in an abusive relationship, but Ms. Hoover will blur that all together into a mesmerizing kaleidoscope of gray. Honestly, my favorite thing about this book is that it gets people to think. It’s subtle but it has the ability to creep up on you and do magnificent things to not only your heart, but to your train of thought as well. An amazing point that Hoover brings to light in this book, regarding domestic violence, is how people approach the topic of “leaving an abusive partner”. I don’t want to elaborate any further because I just know I won’t do her brilliant writing enough justice.

CoHo has been hailed as the ‘Queen of New Adult’ by many. I have enjoyed many of her books but I have always hesitated to praise them too much, afraid that my reaction and love of her books was mostly emotional, and that maybe the writing and stories weren’t as good as I felt they were. BUT…I have absolutely NO problem raining down all of the praises from the swollen clouds of my heart and mind onto this book and Colleen Hoover herself. Coming from both an emotional and intellectual place I would give It Ends With Us a rating of 10 unicorn horns. This rating may have come down a bit because I wanted more story at the ending, if it weren’t for the fact that CoHo accomplishes EVERYTHING that she sets out to with this book. I once came across someone talking about how they review books (I’m almost certain that it was on BookTube but for the life of me I can’t remember who). They mentioned that they rate a book based on what they feel that the author set out to accomplish in the book, and that approach to reviewing has stuck with me. This is a book that I feel CoHo CONQUERED…she didn’t just accomplish things with this book she tackles and slays certain topics. This is a book that NEEDED to be made!

 

 

 

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

