The Importance of Young Adult Literature: Responding to THAT article

Standing ovation with my arms raised high over my head and slow clapping for this brilliant ‘clap back’ post on the Bookshelves & Biros Blog!

Bookshelves and Biros

So it looks like we’ve gotten to that fun part of the year again where everyone wants to take a swipe at YA because it’s the easy option.

Yesterday, it was the turn of TES columnist and English teacher turned Educational Consultant, Joe Nutt, to declare war on young adult literature in spectacularly spiteful fashion. Describing YA as a ‘dangerous fantasy’, he managed to insult readers, librarians, bloggers, authors and writers in one fell swoop.

Mr Nutt believes that young adult literature is preventing young people from becoming “genuinely literate adults“, which is interesting because the very definition of literate is to be able to read and write. The people he’s referring to clearly are reading, just not necessarily the material that Joe would seemingly shove in their direction.

The article also seems to have a problem with the terminology itself, stating that there is simply no…

View original post 761 more words

4 Comments

  1. Thanks for linking to this article! I’ve really enjoyed looking at your blog!

    I hear a lot of grumbling about kids these days not reading “the right thing,” and it really irritates me. Personally, I think people should read whatever they enjoy–whether it’s YA or fantasy or Westerns or romances or classics whatever else it is that they enjoy–and be happy that other people are reading.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! I really do appreciate you taking the time to tell me that. I agree with you…as a reader, there are genres that I don’t read very often (some not at all) but that doesn’t take away from my appreciation of the variety of literature and reading material that is available in the world. I’m always happy that people are reading, especially younger people. And if YA is, for some, what they are able to enjoy best, I’m happy with that.

Leave a Reply

