The Art of Seduction by Robert Greene

*THIS REVIEW IS SPOILER FREE*

310RZiqqlwL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Find it on Goodreads

Buy it at Chapters/Indigo

Buy it at Barnes & Noble

Buy it at Book Depository

Buy it at Amazon

4/10 Unicorn Horns 

Sigh…I don’t even know what to say about this book. I was really looking forward to checking this out, both as a recommendation from a friend and because there was so much hype about Greene’s other book 48 Laws of Power. I just…I couldn’t even finish it and I HATE not finishing a book, especially before reviewing it.

Let me just say that I have nothing against Greene’s writing in general; I really enjoyed the historical stories and even when I was seriously contemplating dropping it I found myself persuaded to finish at least the background story if nothing else, but despised the blatant lack of morals in the content. If this was a book simply theorizing on the different types of seduction methods of humans throughout history as well as today I would have might have enjoyed this. Instead every story was underlined with the manipulative strategies to the point of openly encouraging and praising the sexual, emotional, and psychological manipulation of others.

Seriously! This book is riddled with B.S. comments/instructions. At first I just found it funny and didn’t think for a moment that he was serious. After the 2nd chapter I started to really doubt myself. After reading a certain quote about how one should embrace immoral actions such as chasing a married person till you win them over, and anyone that is against such actions is just jealous I couldn’t bring myself to pick the book back up again. It does have some really good comments on sexuality and human behavior but as a guide/self-help book I can’t get behind this. Though I don’t believe for a second that humans are so simple they can be neatly categorize into seductive types, the theories kept me reading and are pretty interesting. Also, though I found myself often questioning the extent of Greene’s supposition on the motives of the historical figures used as examples for each of the 7 seductive types, it was one of the most captivating aspects of this book. That said I still doubt I’ll ever finish this book, but if I drop down 10 flights of stairs, survive, get amnesia then, God forbid, come across this book again happen to one day pick it up again I’ll update this review. Also wouldn’t recommend it to anyone either, at least not as something to be taken seriously.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

