THE LIEBSTER AWARD

image8

Here are the rules for the Liebster award:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and answer the eleven questions they have written for you
  • Nominate 11 people and give them 11 different questions to answer

I want to extend an incredibly belated THANK YOU to Michel  at the Raistlin0903 Blog for nominating me for The Liebster Award! Even though this response to the nomination is incredibly late, if you have not checked out Michel’s post, please do! While you’re over there don’t forget to follow his Blog because he consistently puts up great content! 

The Q’s and A’s:

What is your favorite game genre?

I don’t play many games, truthfully it’s pretty rare that I’m playing a game. If I have to pick a game genre though, it would be action/adventure.

What is your favorite book genre?

Nope! I refuse to answer this question! I automatically veto the requirement to answer this blasphemous question lol. I am WAYYYY TOO INDECISIVE to ever be able to pick just one book genre! I can narrow it down to my favorite genres though, so I will just do that. My favorite genres are Fantasy and Science Fiction-and if I go with the very, incredibly broad understanding of Fantasy and Science Fiction I can shove quite a few sub-genres into that answer for both novels, comics/graphic novels and manga. 

What region do you prefer for comics? ( Asia, America, Europe?)

I’m just going to change ‘region’ to ‘regions’ because I honestly can’t choose between American comics/graphic novels and Japanese manga. I love them both equally; however, I have been reading much more manga in recent years than comics.

Why did you start blogging?

I don’t really know how to say/type this in a way that won’t end up sounding like a strange pity party lol. The honest truth is that I didn’t have anyone to talk to about books. I don’t have any bookish friends (except 1) and so there was no one for me to rave about an amazing book I had just read to, or anyone for me to recommend some of my favorite reads to, or to have bookish conversations where I could gush about the books I’d just bought, or that could understand the struggles of reorganizing your bookcases without giving you judgemental looks. Blogging about books is an opportunity to get to interact with like minded people who are interested in similar things to me that I can talk to in a safe space where my seemingly weird bookish habits are not judged. It’s gives me the ability to speak freely and honestly about books while being able to maintain a level of anonymity if I choose to.

What is the trashiest game you played, or book/comic you ever read? 

BL (Boy Love)/Yaoi manga…I do not even have to think very hard about this question. I am unashamed of my love of BL, although the genre is incredibly problematic for a plethora of reasons, I still love its trashy goodness!

Have you ever tried surströmming and if not, how do you think it tastes? Have you ever tried   mämmi?

I have tried neither of these foods. I do like fish…and culturally fermented/salted fish is a staple part of my diet, especially while I was growing up. So, it’s possible that I would like surströmming if I got to cook it how I would normally cook sardine, mackerel, cod, or herring. I’m almost certain that I would enjoy mämmi based solely on the fact that it is a desert lol.

What is the most disgusting (tasting, looking and/or smelling) national delicacy you know of (where you live?)

I live in Canada and we are known for our absolute infatuation with Tim Hortons. Yes, I’m aware that a particular restaurant can’t be considered a national delicacy, but Timmy’s is such a hallowed and beloved place that everything there might as well be a Canadian national delicacy. Tim Hortons is a coffee shop franchise that is incredibly popular here. You can get hot and cold beverages, donuts, pastries, and various sandwiches there…and I love Tim Hortons. BUT…ughhhhhh I CAN NOT STAND HONEY CRULLERS! It’s a donut (I think?!?) and it has a glaze, I’m fine with the first two components…yay for sugar coated carbs, but the inside of it turns my insides. The inside of one of those wretched things is moist, and not in a good way. The texture makes me feel like I’m eating soggy something…I can’t even think of anything to compare it to. Moral of the story-it’s disgusting!

What is the funniest word you have heard (and if not in English what does it mean?) 

I recently watched the live-action adaptation of Beauty and the Beast last week Wednesday so of course I have got to pick expectorate/expectorating.

Please share one personal thing about you. Why that one in particular?

Hmmm…a personal thing about me…let’s see…I like reading? Question didn’t say that it had to be something personal that other people didn’t already know, so…yup that’s my answer. I chose this particular personal thing to share because I don’t necessarily like to get personal…and that was the most impersonal personal thing I could think of!

In the console war, where do you stand? 

Uhhh, what’s a console? Okay, I’m not that gaming illiterate but I don’t really have a stand on any side of the console war because I don’t really play games. I will choose Play Station because it’s the system that I’ve had the most experience with…and although it’s not mine, there is one in my house.

Which Anime series have you watched that really had you on the edge of your seat? (And if you don’t watch/like Anime, which tv series) 

The most recent anime series that had me on the edge of my seat while watching it  would have to be Re:ZERO -Starting Life in Another World.

I really tried to make sure that all the Blogs that I nominate had not previously been nominated for The Liebster Award. So hopefully this will be your first time doing this and you won’t have to hate me for having to do it again 🙂

Here are my 11 Nominees:

IgnitedMoth

Orang-utan Librarian 

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

A Court of Coffee and Books

Let’s Talk Anime

Lives In Stone (I’m so sorry…I completely forgot that you don’t participate in Awards! Please just consider this an Honorable Mention!)

Milliebot Reads

Jeana’s Book Nook

Elemental Quill

Geybie’s Book Blog

Twin Reads

And here are the 11 questions to answer: 

  1. What is your favorite type of Blog to read?
  2. What is your favorite aspect of blogging?
  3. What is your guilty pleasure?
  4. What’s your preferred or most used Social Media outlet?
  5. Which of these-Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Desert- is your favorite type of food, and is there any particular dish that is your favorite from those categories?
  6. What is you favorite type of series to binge watch? (Or a series that you have recently binge watched)
  7. Where would you want to go on a dream vacation?
  8. Is there anything that you collect? If not, is there anything that you used to collect or that you would like to start collecting in the future?
  9. Where do you prefer to find book/anime/movie/game recommendations?
  10. Give a random fact about yourself.
  11. What is a book/anime/movie/game that you wish everyone would read/watch/play at least once?
39 Comments

  1. OMG.. thank you so much for nominating my little blog. I am SO honored and can’t express enough my feelings. THANK YOU. I appreciate this so much.

    Btw, I love your blog. I used to read a lot of Japanese comics and was loving them.

    Have a great week and happy reading. 😀

  2. Congrats on your award! I like the way you describe Honey Crullers lol doesn’t make me want to try either haha That’s cool that you like manga & graphic novels. I have yet to try those out. I would bet it helps with imagination on how the story goes, is it?

    • Love them both! At this point picking a favorite is incredibly hard for me lol. There will be two posts later this week where I mention some of my other favorites so I’ll try my best to narrow things down 😅: Noragami (anime), Deadman Wonderland (manga), Skip Beat! (manga), Fullmetal (both), Haikyuu!! (anime), The Boy and the Beast (anime), D. Gray Man (both), Pandora Hearts (manga), Wolf Children (anime), and Hunter X Hunter (anime). I haven’t read the manga for the anime I mentioned, and there is a ton I’m leaving out, but those are the first 10 that popped into my head. What about you?

      • Lol same here, my to-watch list is ridiculous. I definitely recommend Fullmetal when you get the chance. And yes! I love them! 😊 Cool, I’ve seen and loved Ouran and Death Note. I own the manga for both but haven’t read them yet. The other two are on my to-watch list. I loved Death Parade and Monster (The manga). The Ghibli movies I’ve only very recently started watching (1 so far) and loved.

      • Yeah, I’ve heard really good things about it. And you have to read both mangas! They’re really good. So far I’m enjoying Death Parade, and while I may not like the art for Monster all that much, the story is addicting; I can’t stop watching it. It doesn’t help that Johan Liebert is reminding me of a villain from a Webtoon I’m reading…or is it the other way around? And which Ghibli movie have you seen?

      • Lol will do. I’ve been trying to read mostly stuff I already own and they are some of the series on the top of my list. I really enjoyed the story in Death Parade, and the art and atmosphere of it got me hooked. I totally agree with you about Monster. I don’t know how well the manga and anime match up, but I wasn’t a fan of the art in the manga either. The story was amazing though! Lol, cool. You read Webtoons? I’ve been considering getting into it once I finish catching up on my to-watch/read lists. I just watched Princess Mononoke the other day.

      • Well, yeah. You should read the stuff you already have! You can save money that way! And the story in Death Parade is seriously unique; it’s so different than most after death stuff that I wish I had come up with it. And the art is beautiful! I looked at the manga for Monster and the art is pretty darn similar; so far I think it’s a really faithful adaptation. But the story is another one I wish I had come up with, it’s so unique. And yes, I read Webtoons! Most of my early stuff on my blog is about Webtoons. So yeah, once you mostly catch up with your lists I highly suggest you check them out; they need more fans, lol. I mean, they’re free comics that are updated weekly. How can you go wrong? And Princess Mononoke is a really good movie, but I personally don’t think it’s the best. I’m in the minority on that one, but I preferred other Ghibli movies over it.

      • Lol yup, I keep getting and reading new stuff/library books and neglecting my own collection 😓, but now that I’m too broke to buy anymore I’ve now been forced to uphold my resolution to read my own stuff lol. I agree they are both very unique stories in comparison to others like it which is why I love them both so much! I’ll be checking out the anime for Monster later this year. Free!? In that case when I’ve caught up I’ll be sure to look for your posts on them for recommendations ☺. Of course I can’t judge yet, but now I’m really looking forward to watching their other films!

  3. Pingback: Ouran Host Club Book Tag | meltingpotsandothercalamities

  4. Congrats on your award, and thank you so very much for the nomination!! 😀
    Omg, Tim Hortons is sooo good. I’m actually drinking one of their mocha ice capps right now. I’ll have to avoid those honey crullers though after what you said about them! 😛

  5. Thank you so much for the nomination! And funny thing- I live in Michigan and we have a ton of Tim Horton’s, which by the way are not as good as the one I went to when I was in Canada a few months ago. Honey Crullers are actually my second favorite donut, though I hate certain textures. I don’t get it but I love them. But anyway, thank you!

    • You’re welcome! I’d heard awhile back that Tim Hortons left Canada, but have never heard from anyone who had tried it from another country. I’m glad to hear you like them so much ☺ Yeah, it’s definitely a texture thing for me, though It’s also possible they’re made a little differently depending on the place. I might be willing to try them again in that case. I look forward to reading your answers 😁

  6. Congrats again (You’re just raking these in!! They’re well deserved!)! And thanks for the honorable mention and link! 🙂

    Lol about the Timmies thing. I share your struggles for bookcase organization. Do you pick alphabetical by title, author, genre? Spine colour? So many possibilities!!!

  7. Pingback: The Liebster Award

  8. Pingback: 10 Blog Awards have made a happy Dizzy. :) – Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

Leave a Reply

