Kitty and the Midnight Hour by Carrie Vaughn

*This review is SPOILER FREE*

Kitty and the Midnight Hour by Carrie Vaughn

Find it on Goodreads

Buy it at Chapters/Indigo

Buy it at Amazon

Buy it at Barns and Noble

I haven’t completed this series yet so this spoiler free review is only my condensed thoughts up to the 9th installment in this 14 book completed series, but after reading just the first two books I was really looking forward to the rest of the series. So basically Kitty and the Midnight Hour is about a young woman on a midnight radio station in Denver named Kitty. In the world Vaughn’s built the knowledge of supernatural beings is public and on Kitty’s show she offers advice to troubled, usually self-proclaimed, supernatural beings of every verity while working to keep her own supernatural identity as a werewolf secret. The main character has award winning bad luck so there are plenty of adventures and events to keep readers interested throughout the series. Most story arcs are completed in a single installment so, thankfully, most of the books are cliffhanger free. Though that doesn’t mean all the loose ends are tied up at the end of each book, as there is often something left unfinished that makes you feel compelled to read the next in the series.

Kitty is a likable character with some obvious flaws (which honestly drive me insane sometimes) and follows a pretty common cliché at first. Yet even with the overdone classic cliché going, her situation is something that wouldn’t be popular if a lot of people didn’t still relate to it in some way.I’d elaborate on what cliché I’m talking about here, but you may not pick up on it till about halfway through the first book so it would technically be a spoiler. You get to meet a lot of other characters throughout this series, some permanent or occasionally reoccurring like Ben and Cormack, and others that only last till the end of a plot. I found the characters overall enjoyable, though I’ve read better. Though some books, to be honest, really weren’t that great, sometimes oddly paced with no developments, others were MUCH better and jam-packed with character and plot progress. I’m still really enjoying this series so far. I found the whole radio show thing very interesting and new. I loved the humour crazy callers brought in in addition to the character’s dialogue =D

Kitty: “So you’re not really a werewolf.”
Caller: “Not yet. But I was meant to be one, I just know it. How do I get a werewolf to attack me?”
Kitty: “Stand in the middle of a forest under a full moon with a raw steak tied to your face, holding a sign that says, ‘Eat me, I’m stupid’?

You’ll have to wait till the second book in the series to have the pack dynamics explained to you and to have a better understanding of Kitty’s pack and the blatant abuse that goes unchecked in it, but like I mentioned character development and plot progress is a thing so stick with it if you like the premise. Overall it’s not the best I’ve ever read but it’s nowhere near bad. Worth a read if nothing else. This review may change later on, as the series really picks up around the 4th book (book 7 was AMAZING), but so far the overall series is 6.5/10 Unicorn horns.